Canada human rights watch: Christian sacked for Tweeting his support for traditional marriage

Firing of Sportsnet broadcaster after gay marriage tweet tests religious freedom, free speech

In May, Sean Avery, a professional hockey player, made a public service announcement supporting gay marriage in the United States.

Soon after, hockey agent Todd Reynolds tweeted, saying Mr. Avery’s support of same-sex marriage was misguided and gay marriage, legal or not, “will always be wrong.”

Mr. Avery was not a client of Mr. Reynolds.

Mr. Goddard decided to send out a tweet of his own on May 10 in support of Mr. Reynolds.  It read: “I completely and whole-heartedly support Todd Reynolds and his support for the traditional and TRUE meaning of marriage.”

“I just had this immense amount of respect for a man who was willing to put himself out there and speak for truth – and do what we are called to do as Christians,” he said.  “I saw no one was supporting Todd.”

He adds the Twitter account was his own and he used it from home, not on company time.  He also said he had never been involved in controversy before.

According to Mr. Goddard, his boss at Sportsnet called a few hours later and asked him to come to the office immediately.  They agreed to meet the next day.

“Heading into the chat I thought this is about the tweet because they contacted me right after I sent it.  It had to have been about that because I had never been called on the carpet for anything before,” said Mr. Goddard.

“But I thought they were going to say to tone down the tweets.  When I realized they were firing me, I thought, ‘Wow, they’re doing this.  They’re firing me for sending a tweet.’ ”

He said his wife burst into tears at the news, but understood the tweet was sent out of religious conviction.  The couple has two small children.

More:

Canada human rights watch: secularist Calgary City Hall officials show blatant bias against Christian evangelist

Canada human rights watch: Quebec’s new secularist norm is $144 fines for carrying out religious worship

This entry was posted in Secularism, Sport and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.