Writers’ quote of the day: thriller-writer Daniel Kalla on finding the time and getting motivated to write

‘If you want to do something badly enough, you do it.  You don’t need a computer.  You just need an imagination and a bit of determination.  Obviously, to have any success with writing, you have to have perseverance.

I have a young family.  I have a full-time job.  I think anybody who really wants to do this, barring a personal crisis, can sit down and find the time to write the chapter.  I think there’s a misconception out there that you need oodles and oodles of time to write.

Once you have an idea and a bit of determination, you just need to sit down and do it, and you don’t need to clear off 16 or 24 hours.  You could write 750 words in a couple of hours.  It might not be perfect, and it might need to be polished.

I get the rest of my life out of the way, whether it’s dropping the kids at school, or finishing my shift or doing whatever it is, then I just go and write.  I write mainly at home now.  More often than not, I take my laptop and find the quietest and most comfortable place I can.  I am the antithesis of the writer who needs his one computer and one space.’

~ Daniel Kalla

This entry was posted in Authors, Quote of the Day, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.