Disillusioned: Robert Fitzpatrick, who spent his $140,000 life savings on advertising the ‘May 21 Rapture’

Disillusioned: Robert Fitzpatrick, who spent his $140,000 life savings on ads to spread the word of the Rapture, believed that it would happen at 6pm on May 21, but unfortunately for him it didn’t.

In New York’s Times Square, Robert Fitzpatrick, of Staten Island, said he was surprised when the six o’clock hour simply came and went.  He had spent his own money to put up advertising about the end of the world.

‘I can’t tell you what I feel right now,’ he said, surrounded by tourists.  ‘Obviously, I haven’t understood it correctly because we’re still here.  I did what I had to do, I did what the Bible said.

And as the clock ticked past 6pm, he tried to shrink into the jeering crowd.

More:

Robert Fitzpatrick has spent his life savings, $140,000, on advertising Harold Camping’s May 21 ‘Rapture’ rubbish

This entry was posted in Fundamentalism and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.